5stars #ARC #Review “Into the fire” by Claire Boston

Into the Fire

(The Texan Quartet #4)

by Claire Boston


25950314

Details

Published Feb 11, 2016
Series | 258 ages | Multicultural –  Romance
by Claire Boston

goodreads-badge-add-38px

Apps-Amazon-iconoriginalnook144f850_cef42a299ab2456f97b167e676a2b4fakobo-logo-TachiNeko-2-BIGκατάλογος


Synopsis

(adapted from goodreads)

Piper Atkinson uses the truth as a weapon, but her latest interview candidate is more than just a headline.

Piper wants to be the kind of journalist who makes people sit up and take notice of the issues, and in Houston, Texas, there are plenty to go around. In the city’s high-end restaurant world, reclusive Native American chef Taima Woods is discussed in reverential whispers, so when the opportunity to interview him arrives, Piper jumps at it.

But getting to Tai is tougher than she expected. He has a deep mistrust of reporters, and a private life he’d prefer to keep hidden. There are two passions in Tai’s life—his cooking and his tribe—and he means to keep it that way. But the closer Tai gets to Piper, the closer he comes to conceding a third.

Through Tai, Piper discovers a world she knew nothing about—a damaged and ostracized community in need of a voice. But the more Piper wants to help them, the more Tai understands that to love Piper is to turn his back on his people.

Will Tai reject the one woman who’s ever understood him? Or can Piper show him that hardening his heart helps no one?

Perfect for fans of Nora Roberts, Liane Moriarty, Jojo Moyes and Jane Green.


#Review

I received a copy from NetGalley for exchange of my honest review.

Lately I’m honored to receive plenty of great ebooks either from the authors themselves, either from services who promote book titles to professional readers, so the titles will be reviewed and promoted by them as well. I can’t name myself as one professional reader, not yet tho, but I can picture myself as a booklover, who is ready to start reading a new adverture, a new love story, a new epic story and give my honest review, hands down.

I want to believe that “Into the fire” by Claire Boston has something epic into it, although the story itself doesn’t look like it, in the beginning. Reading the synopsis, I was certained that, the story will be full of historical themes about Native American and the way of life they lived, so it might be a little boring for my eyes but there was a spot which intrigued me and made me ask to review it. And boy! I’m so happy I did read it!!

Piper Atkinson is a very lucky woman, who have lovely people around her, ready to support and help her, when she needs it, no matter what. Her kindness to everyone is coming back to her, like a gifted person she is, giving her the strength to keep trying for the good for all these people who are disadvantaged from the others. So, working as a journalist was her plan to make the world better. Eight months into the Houston Age, as a reporter, Piper is doing a variety of interviews her editor gives her daily. Not the kind ones she wanted to write, but they helped her to earn her livings. So, when she’s been asked to make a set of profile interviews on the people with influence of Houston Texas, she was thrilled that she was going to make an interview, including others, with Taima Woods, the famous, but yet reclusive chef of a five stars restaurant, who had never been open for an interview. This opportunity was a huge challenge for Piper, and a step to earn the right to write the kind of articles she wanted to write always.

Taima Woods, a Native American passioned about his Queche origin, was all about his love for cooking and the existence of his tribe. Nothing mattered more to him, than to help the young members of his tribe to have a bright future in frond of them and to fight against the health and economical problems the whole tribe has. He was disgusted by the way the people of Houston didn’t unknowlenged his tribe’s problems, so when Piper Atkinson asked to interview him, he declined her in a heartbeat. “No one is worth to write about his tribe, because no one can understand them complitely”, was his only thought! But Piper’s aura did something to him, her perseverance and honesty win him in the end, and he agreed to interview him, with some conditions on the table. Until, after the time he spent with her, he saw in Piper’s soul his other half, a reason which might cause a whole lot of problems in his life.

Both Piper and Tai, are two well-building characters, increatible sensitive souls, who trying to live their lives with grace and determination and to succeed their goals. Both their lives are difficult, each for a different reason. However, they find a connection, a neutual ground on each other’s eyes, that made them fall in love. With the same passion to help the tribe, Piper and Tai, work together in a project to collect money for a youth center Tai wants to build. The help they find is unbelievable, but when tribe’s rules came up to selface, both have to think what is best for themselves, even if it hurts.

Piper as a journalist, shown me the hard world to be a reporter. Either to be under the wings of politically and economically superiors that always makes you lose the battle to speak the truth, or either to be a free journalist, writing what matters most, what people have to know about and feel good when that happens. Each way has the same commitment and cost but different values and reading this book, I learn a lot about both sides of the same coin.

Tai on the other side, is a Native American. I was never been into Native American history, not been much curious about tribes in my life. So, I was very into the story even if Queche tribe wasn’t real. Claire intelligently created one, with all these well-known problems Native American tribes have for centuries. It’s a pitty to learn, that even in our days, tribes are still living in a third category contitions. What impressed me most, was the way the oldies of Queche tribe, tried to keep their history and rules even after so many years of the “white’s” influnces. It was also riveting to learn that after almost two centuries, there is hate and bad oppinions which came from the “white people” to Native Americans. Where is the free America? Not even the press had been capable to change that, all these years!

Many, different situations happened in the story. Some made me think about my way of seeing things in my own life, some made me angry about the way others seeing things in life, some made me cry, some made me laught and some made me value my life higher. “Into the fire” is that kind of book! Not only a love story but it makes you see differently and more openly how life has to be lived to be better. Hard to accomplished but its worth the trying, right? A better world a better life!!!

Thank you NetGalley and Craire Boston for the chance to read “Into the Fire”. And to all of you who love reading inspired stories, this is a book to get into it.

Enjoy your book

Vivi


Detailed rating:

Book rates: 5+ stars
  • Plot:5+ stars
  • Characters: 5+stars
  • Writing:5 stars
  • Pacing: 5+ stars
  • Cover: 5+ stars

 

More from “The Texas Quarter”

#1 What goes on tour

19358557

Few people know that socially awkward Adrian Hart is actually rock god Kent Downer, and that’s the way Adrian likes it. His privacy is essential, especially now that he has guardianship of his orphaned, ten-year-old niece, Kate. But when the nanny quits in the middle of his tour Adrian finds himself in a bind.

Until Libby Myles walks into his life.

Libby has only ever wanted to become a full-time author and prove to her parents that she can make it on her own. On the surface, the temporary job as the nanny for Kent Downer’s niece looks perfect—the pay is fabulous, the hours are short and Kate is a big fan—it’s the rock star that’s the issue.

Arrogant and way too attractive for anyone’s good, Kent Downer has enough swagger to power a small city. But when he’s out of costume he’s different—shy and uncertain. For Libby it’s a far harder combination to resist. She needs to find a balance between work, writing and ignoring her attraction to the rock star, because if she falls for him, it could mean the end of her dream.

But when a horrible scandal is unleashed—putting young Kate in danger—there’s more heat between Libby and Adrian than just sexual attraction. Libby must figure out if Adrian ever cared for her, or if it was all just part of the show …

#2 All that Sparkels

25112756 Imogen Fontaine is living every girl’s dream.

She is a fashion designer for her family’s haute couture label, lives in a mansion, has a great circle of friends and is the apple of her father’s eye. Everything is perfect.

Until the day that Christian, the boy at the center of her childhood heartbreak, walks back into her life.

From there her life starts to unravel, as long-kept secrets are revealed. Imogen learns that her past was built on lies and betrayal, shattering the illusion of her perfect existence. She must seek out the truth if she has any hope of forging a new path for herself and discovering true freedom.

But can she convince Christian that there is a place for him in her new life?

#3 Unter the Covers

26490830What if the one time you didn’t want love was when you truly needed it?

Forced to flee her abusive ex, alone with no support, Elle is determined to rebuild her life and protect her five-year-old son. Not one to take the easy road, she opens a bookshop café, but opening day almost ends in disaster. In the midst of this chaos, the last thing she needs is a man as charming as George Jones getting in her way.

George has always been a sucker for a damsel in distress, and Elle ticks all the boxes. But Elle’s not interested in being rescued by anyone, especially not him. She knows her taste in men can’t be trusted, but fighting George’s charisma is harder than she expected. And George, who is not one to ignore an itch, has found there’s something about Elle that’s got under his skin.

When Elle’s ex turns up to cause trouble, George must overcome his boyish flirtatiousness if he’s to convince Elle to trust herself and let him into her life. But can Elle put her past behind her before it overwhelms her present?


Follow Claire Boston

Facebook        Twitter      Goodreads      Amazon      Website      Pinterest    You Tube

12719319_434236626768801_410582636374514460_o

 

 

Κράτα το

Κράτα το

Κράτα το

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s